The River

"An exhilarating tale delivered with the pace of a thriller." -Kirkus (Starred Review)A BookPage 2019 Most Anticipated BookA LitHub 2019 Most Anticipated Book From the best-selling author of The Dog Stars, the story of two college students on a wilderness canoe trip—a gripping tale of a friendship tested by fire, white water, and violenceWynn and Jack have been best friends since freshman orientation, bonded by their shared love of mountains, books, and fishing. Wynn is a gentle giant, a Vermont kid never happier than when his feet are in the water. Jack is more rugged, raised on a ranch in Colorado where sleeping under the stars and cooking on a fire came as naturally to him as breathing. When they decide to canoe the Maskwa River in northern Canada, they anticipate long days of leisurely paddling and picking blueberries, and nights of stargazing and reading...
Views: 1 359

The Night Olivia Fell

In the vein of Big Little Lies and Reconstructing Amelia comes an emotionally charged domestic suspense novel about a mother unraveling the truth behind how her daughter became brain dead. And pregnant.A search for the truth. A lifetime of lies.In the small hours of the morning, Abi Knight is startled awake by the phone call no mother ever wants to get: her teenage daughter Olivia has fallen off a bridge. Not only is Olivia brain dead, she's pregnant and must remain on life support to keep her baby alive. And then Abi sees the angry bruises circling Olivia's wrists.When the police unexpectedly rule Olivia's fall an accident, Abi decides to find out what really happened that night. Heartbroken and grieving, she unravels the threads of her daughter's life. Was Olivia's fall an accident? Or something far more sinister?Christina McDonald weaves a suspenseful and heartwrenching tale of hidden relationships, devastating...
Views: 1 336

Drill & Sanctimony

Overweight. Opinionated. Obsessed with video games and war movies. In U.S. Army basic training, Paul Sprungli connives, eats, and bumbles through ten weeks, running a contraband market, exploring religions, and facing military justice from a diminutive Drill Sergeant.Paul Sprungli. Overweight. Opinionated. Obsessed with video games and war movies. In U.S. Army basic training, he connives, eats, and bumbles through ten weeks, running a contraband market, exploring religions, and facing military justice from the diminutive Drill Sergeant Pint. Bunking with Sprungli is an exemplary soldier who succumbs to the most trying element of the modern U.S. Army's co-ed training environment: falling in love. Sprungli becomes the courier of notes, until he learns to doctor the messages and bring Drill Sergeant Pint into a fraternizing love triangle. A military comedy for the 21st century.
Views: 968

A World's Toll: Trapped Between Time

Mia finds herself trapped between time when she overused a watch with manifesting powers. Now she is walking on a path she may never turn back as Mia is in the world of Amaria, a place that only exists between the gaps of time and space. Along with a new found friend, Martin, together they venture to a place not many come upon. Will they conquer each and every obstacle and return to their world?David Masterson is a talented music journalist working at a modest music magazine, hoping to go places. One day his Editor gives him the assignment he has been waiting for -to obtain an exclusive interview with the world's most famous,but reclusive, Rock Star - Jared Lucas!Not believing his good fortune, Masterson journeys to the remote estate of LAMENT HILL, Mount Hood, Oregon, home of the legendary Rock icon, to secure the interview that he believes will make his career. Yet, what appears at first to be a dream assignment turns out to be anything but as, in Masterson's attempt to get Lucas to reveal his soul, he is soon shocked to discover that he is, in fact, fighting to keep hold of his own...
Views: 806

Turbulence, Mystery, Renewal

Follow an individual journey through turbulence of chaos, unfolding mystery, and the renewal of self and spirit. Putting first person perception as the timeless prism, this poetry embarks on the tumultuous undercurrents of life, relationships, and the boundaries of mind.Journey back to childhood, where the buds of friendship and romance blossom; take a peek into the lives of the primary schoolchildren who would become...The Circle.'A very sweet short story of blossoming friendships and childhood traumas.''...a wonderful, engaging story that made me feel good inside...
Highly recommended for readers who love richly written characters and clever dialogue.'* * * * *Beginnings is a stand-alone prequel (novella) to Hiding Behind The Couch.The story continues in Ruminations (Novel) and Hiding Behind The Couch (Season One).* * * * *WARNING: this story deals with themes of child sexual abuse, sudden infant death, and parents' marriage breakdown due to infidelity. All issues are written about sensitively and in a way that is intended to be accessible for children aged ten and above.
Views: 786

The Doorway

Sometimes the line between fact and fantasy becomes distorted and blurred. How do we determine on which side of that line our perceptions belong? Are we really seeing the things we believe we are seeing - or are we in fact, truly insane?Astoria: home of the Brethren, a place of legend, learning, and Truth, and secrets that cannot be told. The Lady thought she knew everything that passed within the walls of Astoria and most of that which happened in the wider world, but there are some secrets to which even she is not privy. What must be hidden at any cost? Why must she remain ignorant of mysterious happenings within her own keep? Can she trust those who would intentionally hide things from her?Discover a boy with a destiny he refuses to accept, a servant that dares defy the Lady to her face, a book of tales few can read, inexplicable comings and goings, and adventures beyond count. Unicorns, dragons, griffins, and other fantastic creatures all have their part while the Truth lies within grasp, waiting only to be discovered.
Views: 759

Behind Every Lie

From the author of The Night Olivia Fell—an "emotionally charged mystery" (Mary Kubica, New York Times bestselling author)—comes a thrilling new suspense novel about the insidious nature of family secrets...and their deadly potential.If you can't remember it, how do you prove you didn't do it?Eva Hansen wakes in the hospital after being struck by lightning and discovers her mother, Kat, has been murdered. Eva was found unconscious down the street. She can't remember what happened but the police are highly suspicious of her.Determined to clear her name, Eva heads from Seattle to London—Kat's former home—for answers. But as she unravels her mother's carefully held secrets, Eva soon realizes that someone doesn't want her to know the truth. And with violent memories beginning to emerge, Eva doesn't know who to trust. Least of all herself.Told in alternating perspectives from Eva's search...
Views: 682

Private Eye Four-Pack

Anthology containing:The Dead Never Forget by Jack LynchDeath is Forever by Maxine O’CallaghanHail Storme by W. L. RipleyLow End Of Nowhere by Michael Stone
Views: 664

The White Apple

Love isn’t simple. For Caroline and Martin, two friends who are married – but not to each other – it’s the only thing that’s right.The lights were dimmed, but it seemed as though there was no reason for them to be on at all. A cornucopia of candles was all that was required, their flickering beams forming a curious interplay with the little electric lighting that was available. The soft golden orange of the walls blended with the fire that illuminated them, forming a cozy canopy for the solid oak table that resided in the centre of the room.
Views: 623

Wordslut

A brash, enlightening, and wildly entertaining feminist look at gendered language and the way it shapes us, written with humor and playfulness that challenges words and phrases and how we use them."I get so jazzed about the future of feminism knowing that Amanda Montell's brilliance is rising up and about to explode worldwide."—Jill SolowayThe word bitch conjures many images for many people, but is most often meant to describe an unpleasant woman. Even before its usage to mean a female canine, bitch didn't refer to gender at all—it originated as a gender-neutral word meaning genitalia. A perfectly innocuous word devolving into a female insult is the case for tons more terms, including hussy—which simply meant "housewife"—or slut, which meant "untidy" and was also used to describe men. These words are just a few among history's many English slurs hurled at women. Amanda Montell, feminist linguist and staff features editor at online...
Views: 576

Little Cutie Poems

A collection of poems dealing with Life, Love, Society, Religion, Depression, Drugs, Loneliness, and Politics.Phasie was a good boy and loved to go on walks with his friends and eat oatmeal for breakfast. Everything would have been perfect, were it not for one problem: an awful, purple dragon often came to scare him in his dreams. His attempt to solve this problem led to amazing discoveries and adventures.--Since childhood, we've grown accustomed to thinking that dreaming is a trivial succession of meaningless illusions in which we are deprived of free will. Michael Raduga, author of the scandalous Phasieland Fairy Tales, begs to differ. As the founder of the School of Out-of-Body Travel, he has created the world's first tales for helping you and your children find out how to not be afraid of bad dreams, consciously travel in the dream world, and use this skill in quite a variety of ways in everyday life.
Views: 565

I Drank the Toxic Cocktail

Do you feel your life is that bad you need to leave so much of it behind?Do you feel your life is that good you can’t leave part of it behind?Fairly looked around the room anxiously. The sterile white walls were no comfort; the spotted plaster of the ceiling was not much better. The beaten linoleum floor shone with a dim glow from the overhead fluorescent lighting, showing a reflection of his jeans where the mop had washed most recently. Fairly exhaled deeply, hoping to quell the trembling that overtook his body whenever he had to take a needle. It’s just a blood test, he told himself unconvincingly. They’re not going to put anything in you, just take a bit of something out, and you have five litres of it anyway. That was what the sources he had read had said. Five litres, and only one needle’s worth will be coming out. Still not how I want to be spending my first Friday afternoon off in weeks.
Views: 557