Poems Below The Line

"B-side" poems on topics including love, politics, TV news, cat care, gun control, religion and celebrity."B-side" poems on topics including love, politics, TV news, cat care, gun control, religion and celebrity. Terry McCarty has written poems in, around and sometimes about Southern California since 1997. His poems appear in the anthologies So Luminous The Wildflowers(Tebot Bach) and The Long Way Home: The Best of the Little Red Books Series 1998-2008 (Lummox Press).
Views: 701

Deadly Ritual

The police believe they have uncovered a ritualistic murder when they find a wooden disc in the mouth of a murder victim. When another victim is discovered, it’s up to DS Mackinnon and the team to find the killer before anymore blood is shed. Jack is back and this time it’s deadly... Deadly Ritual is a British Police Procedural. It is the fifth book in the Detective Sergeant Jack Mackinnon series, perfect for fans of the Roy Grace series by Peter James.
Views: 649

Searching for Stonewall Jackson

Historian Ben Cleary takes readers beyond the legend of Stonewall Jackson and directly onto the Civil War battlefields on which he fought, and where a country once again finds itself at a crossroads. Thomas Jonathan "Stonewall" Jackson was the embodiment of Southern contradictions. He was a slave owner who fought and died, at least in part, to perpetuate slavery, yet he founded an African-American Sunday School and personally taught classes for almost a decade. For all his sternness and rigidity, Jackson was a deeply thoughtful and incredibly intelligent man. But his reputation and mythic status, then and now, was due to more than combat success. In a deeply religious age, he was revered for a piety that was far beyond the norm. How did one man meld his religion with the institution of slavery? How did he reconcile it with the business of killing, at which he so excelled?In SEARCHING FOR STONEWALL JACKSON, historian Ben Cleary examines not only Jackson's...
Views: 634

A Season of Miracles

~ Special Spring Ebook Offering ~ A short Civil War tale of romance from the author of "This Time Forever" ~ John longs for a family and wants to make Caroline and Danny his own. Will his wish come true in this season of miracles?~ Special Spring Ebook Offering ~ A short Civil War tale of romance from the author of "This Time Forever" ~Caroline Ross, a Confederate widow, desperately seeks medical help for her little son in the Union Army camp. John Oldham, a soldier disowned by his family for choosing the wrong side, comes to her aid. As they keep a vigil for days at Danny's bedside, a close relationship develops between them. John longs for a family and wants to make Caroline and Danny his own. Will his wish come true in this season of miracles?
Views: 424

Deadly Justice

A late summer heatwave seems to have triggered an unusually high number of suicides. 
As the dead bodies pile up, DS Jack Mackinnon and the rest of MIT realise things aren't as straightforward as they seem, and when similar letters are found at the scene of each 'suicide,' Mackinnon is convinced they are dealing with a serial killer. A killer who is determined to deliver his own deadly justice. Deadly Justice is the fourth book in the DS Jack Mackinnon Series. Perfect for fans of Peter James and his Roy Grace series.
Views: 340

Deadly Payback

A literary agent is murdered… A personal trainer lies dead in a car park ... What secret connects them? When a top literary agent's bloated and disfigured body is found in one of London's most prestigious hotels, Detective Sergeant Mackinnon and the rest of MIT get to work. As the body count rises, the team are under pressure to find out what connects the victims. Who wants these people dead, and why? The truth turns out to be more shocking than anyone expected.
Views: 236

It's How We Play the Game

For readers of Phil Knight's Shoe Dog and Howard Schultz's Onward, an inspiring memoir from the CEO of DICK's Sporting Goods about building a multibillion dollar business, coming to the defense of embattled youth sports programs, and taking a principled—and highly controversial—stand against the types of guns that are too often used in mass shootings and other tragedies.In 1948, Ed Stack's father, Richard, started Dick's Bait and Tackle in Binghamton, New York, with $300 borrowed from his grandmother. A few years later, Dick expanded to a second location. In 1984, Ed bought the two stores from his father. Today DICK's Sporting Goods is the largest sporting goods retailer in the country with over 800 locations and close to $9 billion in sales.It's How You Play the Game tells the absorbing story of a complicated founder and an ambitious son—one who transformed a business by making it more than a business, conceiving...
Views: 224