• Home
  • Biblical Fiction

Aftershock

An agent for the Afterworld’s Bureau of Investigation, Ben Parker spent decades undercover on earth, searching for the wife he left behind when he died. Just when he decides to give up hope, and move on with his existence, he learns his soul mate was found. Now, reviewing her case file, he understands what she endured those years without him.An agent for the Afterworld’s Bureau of Investigation, Ben Parker spent decades undercover on earth, searching for the wife he left behind when he died. Just when he decides to give up hope, and move on with his existence, he learns his soul mate was found. Now, reviewing her case file, he understands what she endured those years without him. More importantly, he knows what the future has in store for her... but there’s nothing he can do to change it.
Views: 721

Rescued: An Allegory [Short Story]

Christian AllegoryIn an adventure reminiscent of the Christian life, one girl struggles to find her way out of the dungeon, beyond the perils of the journey, to the Kingdom that awaits.BONUS MATERIAL:Each of the six chapters includes questions for reflection, suitable for individual use, or for discussion in a book club, Bible study or small group setting.Hypotenuse: A detective and a witness become acquainted as he investigates the death of one of their neighbors.Colossus: An arctic scientist explores the habitat of the Colossal Squid, and finds a secret even larger than the cagey mollusk.Support: An Explosive Ordinance Disposal officer connects with his family as he wrestles with an especially difficult day in Iraq.Something to Say: A forensic tech examines the body of a woman murdered outside a police station.Why There Are No More Dragons Or Unicorns: A father's tale of the last dragon and unicorn.Turing's Test: A computer with a personality disorder mulls its own idiosyncratic existence with its human roommate.Only Numan: A young man with a genetic predisposition toward unstable genes is given the opportunity to become a part of governmental experiments to develop superhumans.Prisoners of War: A forensics anthropologist and a left-for-dead Marine track a war criminal, in post-war Vietnam.Raider: A woman comes to grips with her own identity and mortality while breaking into an Egyptian pyramid.Dante's Infirmity: An old man and his family struggle to preserve his humanity and independence navigating the medical establishment, as he approaches the end of his life.The Ghost Club: Mr. Houdini and Mr. Doyle explore the question of life after death.Suicide Spear: Humanity takes the battle to an alien homeworld's doorstep, after decades of a devastating war of attrition.Hang Around: A cowboy, a Buddhist monk, and others relive the results of one choice.Ghost Dust: A medical patient reflects on the aftermath of 9/11.Bloody Hands: A community shares responsibility and blame after a young boy's call for help.
Views: 525

A Song for a New Day

In this captivating science fiction novel from an award-winning author, public gatherings are illegal making concerts impossible, except for those willing to break the law for the love of music, and for one chance at human connection.In the Before, when the government didn't prohibit large public gatherings, Luce Cannon was on top of the world. One of her songs had just taken off and she was on her way to becoming a star. Now, in the After, terror attacks and deadly viruses have led the government to ban concerts, and Luce's connection to the world—her music, her purpose—is closed off forever. She does what she has to do: she performs in illegal concerts to a small but passionate community, always evading the law. Rosemary Laws barely remembers the Before times. She spends her days in Hoodspace, helping customers order all of their goods online for drone delivery—no physical contact with humans needed. By lucky chance, she finds a new job and a new...
Views: 468

Broken Pieces: A Short Story

Natalee restores museum pieces, but she's not sure there's much hope for her own shattered life. Until one Christmas Eve, when she meets a stranger with a broken past of his own...Ebony is a smart, sexy, career-oriented black woman who wants nothing more than a summer fling with a man who challenges her mind and body. What she doesn’t expect is a blond haired, blue-eyed bass player—who won’t take “no” for an answer—to accept the challenge. When Ebony’s attempt at a brief fling turns into more, despite negative reactions from friends and family, she finds juggling love, family, and career are nothing compared to the ultimate betrayal she endures. Now her dreams spiral into lies and secrets that threaten her future and her best friend’s trust.
Views: 463

Aftermath

After losing her father, Emma Bennett moves to her aunt’s small town to finish out her senior year of high school. Emma wants to forget the pain and loss of the past few weeks, finding relief in the company of Ben Parker—a local boy whom she has an instant connection with. When Ben seems a little too preoccupied with other responsibilities and has no time for her.After losing her father, Emma Bennett moves to her aunt’s small town of Westport to finish out her senior year of high school. Emma wants to forget the pain and loss of the past few weeks, finding relief in the company of Ben Parker—a local boy whom she has an instant attraction and uncanny connection with. When Ben seems a little too preoccupied with other responsibilities and has no time for her, Emma turns to the town’s hottest flirt—Lucas Crandon—for affection. Unfortunately, she realizes a little too late that, sometimes, bad boys really can be bad for you. Told from Emma and Ben's alternating points of view, Aftermath is a story about love that lasts more than one lifetime. Aftermath has the essential paranormal romance elements and an interesting take on the afterlife. One thing that really intrigued us about this story is Ben's point of view. To Emma, Ben seems like a normal boy, but he's really an undercover agent for the Afterworld's Bureau of Investigation. He's torn between doing his job—kicking butt and taking down evil immortals— and rekindling his lost love. Ben—who died many years ago, has been searching for his wife in the Afterworld for years. What Ben didn't realize is that his wife isn't in the Afterworld. She's on Earth and Emma just happens to be her reincarnate.
Views: 413

The Least of These.

0105201812428
Views: 381

Beauty for Ashes

Nathan Drummond’s actions at the age of eighteen had devastating consequences. Writing became therapeutic, leading him into a successful career as a mystery writer. With seven novels to his name, Nathan is rapidly becoming a household name. When family responsibilities force him to return to his home town, he meets Angie Hernandez. Nathan doesn’t count on falling in love, and certainly not with a woman who has the power to shatter his peace. Being at home pushes him too close to painful memories, and as guilt threatens and panic attacks set in, Nathan begins to write a novel paralleling the tragic event from his youthful folly. Will the novel be seen as a work of fiction, or will it expose his secret and threaten his future?
Views: 346

Of Fire and Lions

The Old Testament book of Daniel comes to life in this novel for readers of Lynn Austin's Chronicles of the Kings series or Francine Rivers' Mark of the Lion series.Survival. A Hebrew girl first tasted it when she escaped death nearly seventy years ago as the Babylonians ransacked Jerusalem and took their finest as captives. She thought she'd perfected in the many years amongst the Magoi and the idol worshippers, pretending with all the others in King Nebuchadnezzar's court. Now, as Daniel's wife and a septuagenarian matriarch, Belili thinks she's safe and she can live out her days in Babylon without fear—until the night Daniel is escorted to Belshazzar's palace to interpret mysterious handwriting on a wall. The Persian Army invades, and Bellili's tightly-wound secrets unfurl with the arrival of the conquering army. What will the reign of Darius mean for Daniel, a man who prays to Yahweh alone?      Ultimately, Yahweh's...
Views: 181

Sooner or Later Everything Falls Into the Sea

Sooner or Later Everything Falls into the Sea is one of the most anticipated sf&f collections of recent years. Pinsker has shot like a star across the firmament with stories multiply nominated for awards as well as Sturgeon and Nebula award wins. The baker's dozen stories gathered here (including a new, previously unpublished story) turn readers into travelers to the past, the future, and explorers of the weirder points of the present. The journey is the thing as Pinsker weaves music, memory, technology, history, mystery, love, loss, and even multiple selves on generation ships and cruise ships, on highways and high seas, in murder houses and treehouses. They feature runaways, fiddle-playing astronauts, and retired time travelers; they are weird, wired, hopeful, haunting, and deeply human. They are often described as beautiful but Pinsker also knows that the heart wants what the heart wants and that is not always right, or easy.
Views: 171

The Pharaoh's Daughter

"Fear is the most fertile ground for faith." "You will be called Anippe, daughter of the Nile. Do you like it?" Without waiting for a reply, she pulls me into her squishy, round tummy for a hug. I'm trying not to cry. Pharaoh's daughters don't cry. When we make our way down the tiled hall, I try to stop at ummi Kiya's chamber. I know her spirit has flown yet I long for one more moment. Amenia pushes me past so I keep walking and don't look back. Like the waters of the Nile, I will flow. Anippe has grown up in the shadows of Egypt's good god Pharaoh, aware that Anubis, god of the afterlife, may take her or her siblings at any moment. She watched him snatch her mother and infant brother during childbirth, a moment which awakens in her a terrible dread of ever bearing a child. Now she is to be become the bride of Sebak, a kind but quick-tempered Captain of Pharaoh Tut's army. In order to provide Sebak the heir he...
Views: 67

Abigail (The Wives of King David Book #2): A Novel

Abigail's hopes and dreams for the future are wrapped up in her handsome, dark-eyed betrothed, Nabal. But when the long-awaited wedding day arrives, her drunken groom behaves shamefully. Nevertheless, Abigail tries to honor and respect her husband despite his abuse of her. Meanwhile, Abigail's family has joined David's wandering tribe as he and his people keep traveling to avoid the dangerous Saul. When Nabal suddenly dies, Abigail is free to move on with her life, and thanks to her brother, her new life includes a new husband--David. The dangers of tribal life on the run are serious, but there are other dangers in young Abigail's mind. How can David lead his people effectively when he goes against God? And how can Abigail share David's love with the other wives he insists on marrying? Jill Eileen Smith, bestselling author of Michal, draws on Scripture, historical research, and her imagination as she fills in the blanks to unveil the story of Abigail and David in rich detail and drama. The result is a riveting page-turner that will keep readers looking forward to the next book in this trilogy.
Views: 66