When Eagles Burn (Maddox Book #1)

September 1944. A V2 lands with horrifying precision, aimed to kill Churchill. Germany has developed missiles capable of targeted, long-range assassinations. Veteran of the SOE, Captain Maddox, is sent behind enemy lines to Finland to halt production. But between the local Finns, Red Army and Nazis, this may be his deadliest mission ever. Worse, he suspects there's a traitor on his team.September 1944.Germany is being pushed back across Europe but the war is not yet won. A fanatical group within the Nazi hierarchy is determined to do whatever is necessary to tip the balance in the Fatherland's favour.Their plan? Pinpoint guided V2 rockets.From across the seas, the Nazis will be able to hit a specific location with a large enough warhead to guarantee precision assassinations.Their first target: Winston Churchill.Captain Maddox is a veteran of Britain's Special Operations Executive.He is sent behind enemy lines to Finland thwart this new menace.But finding and stopping the Germans is just the first problem among many. Will the local Finns, battling Soviet Russia, greet him as friend or foe? And what of the Red Army, who want the technology for themselves?Worse still, Maddox quickly realises not everyone on his team wants him to make it through the war alive."When Eagles Burn" is the electrifying first book in the Maddox series. A fast-paced thriller in the style of Alistair MacLean, Jack Higgins and Clive Cussler."Another masterful thriller from Jack Hayes. A precision guided bomb explodes in London, throwing the British high command into disarray. But the threat comes not from Nazi Germany but from the trackless wastes and endless winter night of occupied Finland. A team of hand-picked soldiers is parachuted into the area with the most specific instructions and one simple objective. But facing the armed might of both the Nazis and the Red Army isn't their only problem – they have a traitor in their ranks, a man with his own very different agenda. A gripping tale of heroism and treachery." -- James Becker, author of "The Lost Testament""A cracking read!" -- Roger Hurn, author of "Business is Murder""A thriller in a class of its own!" -- Matt Lynn, author of the "Black Ops" series.
Views: 1 053

Watching the English

Updated, with new research and over 100 revisions Ten years later, they're still talking about the weather! Kate Fox, the social anthropologist who put the quirks and hidden conditions of the English under a microscope, is back with more biting insights about the nature of Englishness. This updated and revised edition of Watching the English - which over the last decade has become the unofficial guidebook to the English national character - features new and fresh insights on the unwritten rules and foibles of "squaddies," bikers, horse-riders, and more. Fox revisits a strange and fascinating culture, governed by complex sets of unspoken rules and bizarre codes of behavior. She demystifies the peculiar cultural rules that baffle us: the rules of weather-speak. The ironic-gnome rule. The reflex apology rule. The paranoid pantomime rule. Class anxiety tests. The roots of English self-mockery and many more. An international bestseller, Watching the...
Views: 584

Shelter

'Beautiful' Adele Parks'Life affirming and compelling!' Clare Mackintosh'Tender and illuminating' Carys Bray'Its characters pulse with life and energy . . . vividly rendered' Daily MailPerfect for fans of Early One Morning by Virginia Baily and the novels of Maggie O'Farrell.Early spring 1944.Connie Granger has escaped her bombed-out city home, finding refuge in the Women's Timber Corps. For her, this remote community must now serve a secret purpose.Seppe, an Italian prisoner of war, is haunted by his memories. In the forest camp, he finds a strange kind of freedom.Their meeting signals new beginnings. But as they are drawn together, the world outside their forest haven is being torn apart. Old certainties are crumbling, and both must now make a life-defining choice.What price will they pay for freedom? What will they fight to protect?...
Views: 535

The Organization Man

Regarded as one of the most important sociological and business commentaries of modern times, The Organization Man developed the first thorough description of the impact of mass organization on American society. During the height of the Eisenhower administration, corporations appeared to provide a blissful answer to postwar life with the marketing of new technologies—television, affordable cars, space travel, fast food—and lifestyles, such as carefully planned suburban communities centered around the nuclear family. William H. Whyte found this phenomenon alarming.As an editor for Fortune magazine, Whyte was well placed to observe corporate America; it became clear to him that the American belief in the perfectibility of society was shifting from one of individual initiative to one that could be achieved at the expense of the individual. With its clear analysis of contemporary working and living arrangements, The Organization Man rapidly...
Views: 512

Bon Mots, Wisecracks, and Gags

A hilarious and witty collection of quotes from twentieth century literary icons. "Stop looking at the world through rose-colored bifocals." "His mind is so open, the wind whistles through it." "You can't teach an old dogma new tricks." Ever wonder where these sayings came from? For decades, the dining room of New York's legendary Algonquin Hotel was a hub of letters and humor. Cocktails were swilled as writers, humorists, actors, and critics poked fun at culture, the arts, and one another. In this lively tribute, today's readers will come to understand why Robert Benchley, George S. Kaufman, and Dorothy Parker represent the epitome of quips and comebacks—wit that still packs a punch decades later.
Views: 414