Blue Blue City

avant-garde than if Lenin was an Irish policeman, Blue Blue City is a text produced by mangling Pride and Prejudice beyond all comprehensibility. I've never read it, and I wrote the thing. Daryl Jones is placed in several bizarre situations, and there's also a pregnant senator running around. Basically, a crap Finnegan's Wake.What do words mean these days?This is the question posed by Blue Blue City, the bodacious anti-novel that dares go where no prose fiction has gone before. New meanings are forced out of Shanghai'd words organised in sentences unfound in nature. Punctuation is thrown between words like confetti.Characters, you say? Comparing characters to the repeated names found in this book is offensive to the very concept of characterization. Settings? This is a book that destroys the very notion.Plot? This book has no plot.The author is dead. Long live the author!If you do not understand this book, it is you who is wrong.This book was once Pride and Prejudice.
Views: 855

The Job: A Darklight Chronicle

What if a pickpocket had a change of heart?Snitch and her partner in crime decide to knock over a pawn shop. But something goes wrong. What should she do next?Nuclear war has made it so that no person is able to live above ground. This caused humanity to all live beneath the earth’s surface, down in the tunnels built in preparation for a nuclear attack. The men who used to call themselves Americans find the existence difficult but bearable. Their predicament has them yearning for other possibilities. Will they find them? Or will they be doomed to live in tunnels forever?
Views: 758

Shifter

Jerry Price has just killed his own mother. He had no choice. After ingesting a street narcotic called Vision, she changed into a cannibalistic creature, and he was next on the menu. Struggling with guilt he sets out with his pet ferret Whisper and his own malevolent shadow to discover the secrets of vision and himself.Jerry Price has just killed his own mother. He had no choice. After ingesting a street narcotic called Vision, she changed into a cannibalistic creature, and he was next on the menu.Institutionalized in an asylum, Jerry is left to struggle with the guilt over his mother's death, until he is broken out by the unlikely duo of a talking ferret named Whisper and Jerry's own shadow. Together the three set out to learn the secrets of Vision which are literally out of this world.
Views: 729

Strange Future: A 23rd Century Guide for the 21st Century Cynic

Thomas Gordon's life was going just fine, until a chain of inexplicable mishaps results in Thomas getting fired. Fed up, he starts the search for a better life. Along the way, he meets a group of scientists with an intriguing escape route: human cryogenic preservation. Thomas and his 2 companions emerge in the 23rd century, and quickly discover it isn't exactly the "better world" they expected...Abby refuses to marry the monster to whom she is betrothed. As she flees, she meets a mysterious stranger at a wayside inn. His startling proposition will either save her, or leave her mired in scandal.
Views: 676

Vision

It makes you kill and eat those around you if you take too much. Yet the street drug Vision is growing in popularity. Detective Steven Phillips knows he must do something after yet another gruesome crime scene. Something no one would approve of. He did it before. But he finds something far more dangerous than a drug that gives you a bad case of the munchies.It makes you kill and eat those around you if you take too much. Yet the street drug Vision is growing in popularity among the down and out. Detective Steven Phillips steps into each resulting crime scene that are brief windows into a personal hell. He knows he must do something. Something no one would approve of. He did it before. But he finds something far more dangerous than a drug that gives you a bad case of the munchies. A exciting prequel to the novel Shifter by John Sharp.
Views: 440

LDAP System Administration

If you want to be a master of your domain, LDAP System Administration will help you get up and running quickly regardless of which LDAP version you use. After reading this book, even with no previous LDAP experience, you'll be able to integrate a directory server into essential network services such as mail, DNS, HTTP, and SMB/CIFS.
Views: 165

Blood Sugar

From the dark imagination of New York Times bestselling novelist Daniel Kraus - co-author with Guillermo del Toro of THE SHAPE OF WATER (which as a film won the Academy Award for Best Picture) - comes a Halloween crime story that's like nothing you've ever read before.WHEN TRICK OR TREAT BECOMES LIFE OR DEATHAt the end of Yellow Street, in a ruined junkyard of a house, an angry outcast hatches a scheme to take revenge for all the wrongs he has suffered. With the help of three alienated neighborhood kids, he plans to hide razor blades, poison, drugs, and broken glass in Halloween candy and use the deadly treats to maim or kill dozens of innocent children. But as the clock ticks closer to sundown, will one of his helpers - an innocent himself, in his own streetwise way - carry out or defeat the plan?Told principally from the child's point of view, in a voice as startling and unforgettable as A Clockwork Orange, Kraus' novel is at...
Views: 156

Burning Ashes

In the vein of Kevin Hearne, Burning Ashes is the third book in the Ben Garston series, a contemporary fantasy tale of dragons and ancient magic hidden within our own world.The Lore is over. For Ben Garston, the fight is just beginning.The uneasy truce between the human and the mythical world has shattered. Betrayed by his oldest friend, with a tragic death on his hands, there isn't enough whiskey in England to wash away the taste of Ben's guilt. But for a one-time guardian dragon, there's no time to sit and sulk in the ruins.Because the Long Sleep has come undone. Slowly but surely, Remnants are stirring under the earth, unleashing chaos and terror on an unsuspecting modern world. Worse still, the Fay are returning, travelling across the gulfs of the nether to bring a final reckoning to Remnants and humans alike.A war is coming. A war to end all wars. And only Ben Garston stands in the way...The Ben Garston...
Views: 92

The Death and Life of Zebulon Finch, Volume 1

A murdered teen is resurrected to walk the earth for centuries in this sweeping historical epic in the spirit of The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing and The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, from the author of Rotters and Scowler.Twenty minutes after his murder on the shores of Lake Michigan in 1896, seventeen-year-old Zebulon Finch awakens, resurrected to suffer an eternity upon the planet. But of all people...why him?Is it because he was a violent Chicago gangster and this is his chance at redemption?Is it because he is a modern-day Job whose suffering is beyond human comprehension?Over the next century—or two—he will try to find out. With a sly aristocratic voice and a healthy appetite for women and anarchy, Zebulon Finch spins a tale of his travels across a young America, watching the country grow and mature, knowing that his mind and body will never do the same.Yes, he is witty. He is also...
Views: 66

I Can Hear the Mourning Dove

An ALA Best Book for Young Adults: A teenage girl fights to overcome depression with help from a rebellious friend Outside her window, Grace hears a dove. The birdsong reminds her that there is a world outside her hospital room, that life is not always as confusing as it seems. It's a reminder she needs badly, because Grace's life has gotten pretty scrambled lately. After her father died, her world dissolved into blackness and she tried to find her way out with a razor blade. She survived and was treated with electroshock therapy, which only left her more mixed up than before. Now she is in a kinder place, trying to put herself back together, but aside from the dove outside her window, she cannot be sure what is real. Sometimes Grace hears her father's voice speaking to her. Sometimes she can't tell whether she is sleeping or awake. But Grace is a fighter, and with a little help, she will unscramble herself—no matter how long it takes.
Views: 49