Dream Job

He's the hot, sexy man of her dreams. And her new boss. But someone else is dreaming about her, someone even more dangerous.After Adrianna sleeps with her hunky boss, she has to face him every day at the office of DreamCorp International. She has to test the company's dream software with him in the office hot tub. She has to ignore the fact that his touch drives her to peaks of ecstasy she's never experienced before. And that she's fallen madly in love with him.To make her life in tropical Florida even more confusing, Adrianna is plagued by disturbing dreams. Davis, one of those forgettable men she'd rather not think about anymore, a geeky guy she never should have slept with, stalks her. Davis has other ideas. He still wants her, and he plans to have her—in the murky dream world they appear to share.Something strange is happening to Adrianna. And it's making her wonder about her dreams. Are dreams more than a random rehash of day-to-day images, repressed sexual...
Views: 68

Tequila Dirty

Something bad has happened in Dusky Beach, and Rita Deltone, a tough talking waitress from Lemon Run, Florida, is smack in the middle of it. Waking in a hospital with a bandage on her head and her hands tied to the bed can't be good. Yet, she knows all too well the dirt road she took to get down so low and doesn't mind taking the long way around in the telling. Liam Donell is the new detective in town. His partner is on vacation so he has to handle all the dirty work. The suspect sure has a strange story to tell. But this Rita chick is pretty smokin'. In fact, she's so hot, he's not making the best decisions regarding the case. Then it turns ugly. An unlikely couple, Rita and Liam try to make the best of a bad situation with steamy, hilarious, and surprising results.
Views: 64

Falling Suns

A psychological thriller for fans of Belinda Bauer, Mark Edwards, Clare Mackintosh – a dark and brooding tale about the horrors that can lurk within a family. Ex-DI Rachel Dune's small son is missing. Then his body is discovered. Her cousin Michael is found guilty of his murder and incarcerated in a secure psychiatric unit. Four years later, now divorced and back in the police force, Rachel discovers that Michael is being released to a less secure step-down unit, with his freedom a likely eventuality. Unable to cope with this, she decides upon revenge, assuming a new identity to hunt him down and kill him. However, as she closes in on her target, her friend Jonathan, a journalist, uncovers some unnerving information about her mother and others in her family and begins to suspect that Rachel's perception of the truth might not be as accurate as she thinks – that she might be about to murder the wrong man...
Views: 60

Whiskey Sour Noir (The Hard Stuff)

Tami Lee Conkers knows her own mind, and she knows she has gotten herself into trouble by falling for the handsome, well-educated Cat Avery. She knows better, as the man is a registered sex offender who has served his time and now tends bar, but she believes his claim of innocence. Having lost everything—career, family, home and reputation—Cat thinks he has figured out who set him up for the crime he didn't commit. He is determined to seek revenge. All around him, life is going from bad to worse until Tami Lee comes a callin'. Without Tami's help, Cat's life is over. As the world spins out of control around them, can Tami justify leaving her life behind for one man?
Views: 60

Astonishing Splashes of Colour

Taking its title from a description of Peter Pan's Neverland, Astonishing Splashes of Colour follows the life of Kitty, a woman who, in a sense, hasnever grown up. As her moods swing dramatically from high to low, they are illuminated by an unusual ability to interpret people and emotions through colour.Kitty struggles to come to terms with her life, including the loss of her mother, a miscarriage, and an unconventional marriage to her husband, who lives in the apartment next door. And when her father and brothers reveal a family secret long hidden, it overwhelms Kitty's tenuous hold on reality and propels her on an impetuous journey to the brink of madness.This P.S. edition features an extra 16 pages of insights into the book, including author interviews, recommended reading, and more.
Views: 58

Magnetism

Mother and daughter Caroline and Erica are best of friends and worst of enemies.Set in the American mid- and south-west, their story unfolds over more than 50 years against a backdrop of sweeping social change. Feisty and argumentative, they roll with the punches, surviving car crashes, awkward family gatherings, relationship disasters—and plastic surgery.Sharply observed and darkly comic, Magnetism notches a riveting new path through this most fundamental of family ties.
Views: 58

Natural Flights of the Human Mind

Peter Straker lives in a converted lighthouse on the Devon coast with a fine view of the sea, two cats, and no neighbors. That's just the way he likes it. He speaks to no one except in his dreams, where he converses with some of the seventy-eight people he believes he killed nearly a quarter-century earlier -- though he can't quite remember how it happened. But Straker's carefully preserved solitude is about to be invaded by Imogen Doody, a prickly and unapproachable school caretaker with a painful history herself. Against his will -- and hers -- Straker soon finds himself helping Imogen repair the run-down cottage she's inherited. There are forces gathering, however, as the twenty-fifth anniversary of Straker's crime approaches, and they're intent upon disturbing his precarious peace.
Views: 52

RealLife Rum

Who determines your destiny? The gods or the gods of money? After she's invited to Dusky Beach, Florida, Marina Winston believes she'll finally meet her mysterious benefactor. But sometimes fate is a twisted bitch. One minute she's flirting with the security guard, the next he's been shot. RealLife Shares, a spy who loves her, a pink pistol, and Mr. X, the mysterious multimillionaire who lives on his own private island... All this has something to do with Marina, but she has no idea what. She only knows Officer Handsome, the detective interrogating her, has clear blue eyes like an Alaskan dog, and boy, does he turn her on. He really doesn't want to go there. Yet to her, the cool cop represents the chance to demonstrate her freedom of choice. And Marina is determined to choose her own destiny.
Views: 52

Bebe Moore Campbell

From Publishers WeeklyStarred Review. This powerful story of a mother trying to cope with her daughter's bipolar disorder reads at times like a heightened procedural. Keri, the owner of an upscale L.A. resale clothing shop, is hopeful as daughter Trina celebrates her 18th birthday and begins a successful-seeming new treatment. But as Trina relapses into mania, both their worlds spiral out of control. An ex-husband who refuses to believe their daughter is really sick, the stigmas of mental illness in the black community, a byzantine medico-insurance system—all make Keri increasingly desperate as Trina deteriorates (requiring, repeatedly, a "72 hour hold" in the hospital against her will). The ins and outs of working the mental health system take up a lot of space, but Moore Campbell is terrific at describing the different emotional gradations produced by each new circle of hell. There's a lesbian subplot, and a radical (and expensive) group that offers treatment off the grid may hold promise. The author of a well-reviewed children's book on how to cope with a parent's mental illness, Moore Campbell (What You Owe Me) is on familiar ground; she gives Keri's actions and decisions compelling depth and detail, and makes Trina's illness palpable. While this feels at times like a mission-driven book, it draws on all of Moore Campbell's nuance and style. Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. From Scientific AmericanHell, being black is hard enough.... Please don't add crazy. So writes Bebe Moore Campbell in her compelling new novel that confronts two taboo subjects in the African American community: mental disorder and homosexuality. The book is named for the three-day maximum period that a mentally ill adult can be legally held in a public health facility if she demonstrates a danger to herself or others. The novel tells the story of Keri Whitmore, a successful black businesswoman struggling to care for a teenage daughter with bipolar disorder, which causes radical mood swings between mania and depression. The fictional prose is not meant to offer an inside look at brain disease. Rather it presents a brutally honest and devastating account of a mother's love and the desperate degree to which she will go to rescue her child from mental illness. In doing so, Campbell exposes the woeful inadequacies of our current public health care system in treating such patients and introduces the novel's greatest value: its insight into the challenges faced by people who must care for such loved ones. Nevertheless, this noble effort is undermined when Campbell invokes slavery to convey the horrors of mental illness. Though poignant, the comparison seems forced, relying on overwrought passages about whipping posts and slave auctions. The metaphor clouds the novel's purpose, especially since the author seems to decide, by the end, that the best way to deal with a family member's brain disease is through acceptance rather than emancipation. The same cannot be said of slavery. Campbell also draws parallels between brain disorders and homosexuality to suggest that both issues must be dealt with more openly. Her point that both are unfairly stigmatized is overshadowed by the unsavory implication that being gay is a malady somehow akin to mental illness. The novel offers important lessons to family members about caring for the self and seeking the support of others. And yet Campbell's main character is overly ambitious, much like the book itself. Keri seems more like a wonder-mom with an endless supply of time, energy and patience than a desperate mother on the brink of collapse. She not only cares for her manic daughter but runs her thriving business, strokes the ego of her workaholic exhusband, counsels her boyfriend's gay son and advises a drug-addicted ex-prostitute. Then again, Campbell has taken on ambitious aims, which she accomplishes with some success despite the novel's distractions. Jeanne Hamming
Views: 45

Vodka Warrior

A lonely divorcee living in a tacky development in Dusky Beach, Florida, Theresa Tierney is an educated hick and her own worst enemy. She has a wild streak and a bit of a drinking problem, both leading to a few too many bad choices. When her neighbor's new roommate arrives, a good-looking body god, Theresa is both curious and disgusted. A brash New Yorker, Vario Fumesti says what he's thinking and looks sexy as hell doing it. The brawny mountain of pumped muscle is mega alpha male. But his frequent hot tub parties with friends from a local strip club fire up Theresa's anger. In fact, Vario continually makes her feel and do things she isn't expecting. A series of screw-ups, lust, and love set Theresa on a rollercoaster ride that's out of control and threatening to jump the tracks.
Views: 13