The Orphanage

Germany in 1942. Detlev has been placed by his mother in a Catholic orphanage. Here, he tries to make sense of the incomprehensible and hostile world outside. What is an orphan? Who was his father? What became of him? What do the dead look like? The dead killed in battle? The dead after an air raid? Why does God not stretch out a net to stop the bombs from falling? How did Christ suffer on the cross? What is a Jew? The Orphanage begins Fichte's exploration of sex and sexual identity, an exploration that was to become the dominant theme of his Hamburg novels. Its publication introduces a major post-war writer, acclaimed as the ‘German Jean Genet’. The Orphanage was awarded the 1965 Hermann Hesse prize.
Views: 546

Confession with Blue Horses

Tobi and Ella's childhood in East Berlin is shrouded in mystery. Now adults living in London, their past in full of unanswered questions. Both remember their family's daring and terrifying attempt to escape, which ended in tragedy; but the fall-out from that single event remains elusive. Where did their parents disappear to, and why? What happened to Heiko, their little brother? And was there ever a painting of three blue horses? In contemporary Germany, Aaron works for the archive, making his way through old files, piecing together the tragic history of thousands of families. But one file in particular catches his eye; and soon unravelling the secrets at its heart becomes an obsession. When Ella is left a stash of notebooks by her mother, and she and Tobi embark on a search that will take them back to Berlin, her fate clashes with Aaron's, and together they piece together the details of Ella's past... and a family destroyed. Devastating and beautifully...
Views: 532

Planet of the Apes

The 1968 Planet of the Apes film has inspired generations of authors. Now a who's who of modern writers produces sixteen all-new tales, exclusive to this volume, set in the world of the original films and television series. Dan Abnett • Kevin J. Anderson • Jim Beard • Nancy CollinsGreg Cox • Andrew E.C. Gaska • Robert GreenbergerRich Handley • Greg Keyes • Sam Knight • Paul KupperbergJonathan Maberry • Bob Mayer • John Jackson MillerTy Templeton • Will Murray • Dayton WardEach explores a different drama within the post-apocalyptic world, treating readers to unique visions and nonstop action.
Views: 366

Lifelines

"A graceful, attentive, and beautiful debut." —George SaundersNamed a Best Book of the Summer by Cosmopolitan, Nylon, and the Minneapolis Star-TribuneFor fans of Meg Wolitzer and Maggie Shipstead: a sweeping debut novel following an American artist who returns to Germany—where she fell in love and had a child decades earlier—to confront her past at her former mother-in-law's funeral. It's 1971 when Louise leaves Oregon for Düsseldorf, a city grappling with its nation's horrific recent history, to study art. Soon she's embroiled in a scene dramatically different from the one at home, thanks in large part to Dieter, a mercurial musician. Their romance ignites quickly, but life gets in the way: an unplanned pregnancy, hasty marriage, the tense balance of their creative ambitions, and—finally, fatally—a family secret that shatters Dieter, and drives Louise home. But in 2008 she's...
Views: 341

The Fox and Dr. Shimamura

A delicious mix of East and West, of wonder and irony, The Fox and Dr. Shimamura is a most curious novelThe Fox and Dr. Shimamura toothsomely encompasses East and West, memory and reality, fox-possession myths, and psychiatric mythmaking. As an outstanding young Japanese medical student at the end of the nineteenth century, Dr. Shimamura is sent—to his dismay—to the provinces: he is asked to cure scores of young women afflicted by an epidemic of fox possession. Believing it's all a hoax, he considers the assignment an insulting joke, until he sees a fox moving under the skin of a young beauty... Next he travels to Europe and works with such luminaries as Charcot, Breuer and Freud—whose methods, Dr. Shimamura concludes, are incompatible with Japanese politeness. The ironic parallels between Charcot's theories of female hysteria and ancient Japanese fox myths—when it comes to beautiful, writhing young women—are handled with a...
Views: 118

Sea Monsters

Pulsing to the soundtrack of Joy Division, Nick Cave, and Siouxsie and the Banshees, an intoxicating portrait of Mexico in the late 1980s by this brilliant Guggenheim fellow and Prix du Premier Roman Étranger–winning author One autumn afternoon in Mexico City, seventeen-year-old Luisa does not return home from school. Instead, she boards a bus to the Pacific coast with Tomás, a boy she barely knows. He seems to represent everything her life is lacking—recklessness, impulse, independence. Tomás may also help Luisa fulfill an unusual obsession: she wants to track down a traveling troupe of Ukrainian dwarfs. According to newspaper reports, the dwarfs recently escaped a Soviet circus touring Mexico. The imagined fates of these performers fill Luisa's surreal dreams as she settles in a beach community in Oaxaca. Surrounded by hippies, nudists, beachcombers, and eccentric storytellers, Luisa searches for someone, anyone, who will "promise, no matter what, to...
Views: 74

Birds of the Nile

When Michael Blake takes early retirement from the British Embassy in Cairo, he books a long–awaited birding trip. But halfway up the Nile he meets Lee Yong and things begin to change. Their tour guide Reda isn't all he seems either and when the Egyptian revolution kicks off, Blake finds himself embroiled in a tangled web of love and intrigue. Set against the background of the events of January 2011, Birds of the Nile is a powerful story of loss and self-discovery as three disparate characters, each with their own agenda, seek to come to terms with change. Part political thriller, part love story, Birds of the Nile is N.E.David's debut novel. Poignantly written, it reminds us of the complex nature of global cultural interaction and how, as individuals, we try to deal with it.
Views: 71

The Dance by the Canal

A tragicomic satire from the heart of East Germany. Gabriela grows up in the East German town of Leibnitz. Her father is a famous surgeon, her mother a respected society hostess. The girl, however, struggles to fulfil their expectations. She shows no talent as a violinist and, worse, she fails to choose the right friends at school. When her father falls out of favour with the communists, Gabriela drops out of school. Eventually she ends up living beneath a canal bridge. Then the Wall falls. Can Gabriela seize a second chance in the new, united, Germany?Why Peirene chose to publish this book:'When I pass homeless women, I look into their faces and wonder: why her and not me? I sense that maybe our differences are not as great as I would like to believe. Dance by the Canal tells the story of a woman who fails to find her place in society - neither in communist GDR nor in the capitalist West. Her refusal to conform to the patriarchal structures of both...
Views: 43

This Must Be the Place

Walter Baum has one of the most famous voices in Germany, if no longer a famous face. A former television star, he's been dubbing Tom Cruise's lines into German for fifteen years, since he returned from a failed attempt to make it as an actor in Hollywood. Now he finds himself nearing forty, alone and adrift. In the apartment just below him, a young American woman named Hope is slipping further and further into herself. Having fled New York a month earlier to join her workaholic husband in Berlin, she finds herself more isolated than ever and unable to cope with the sense of foreboding created by the haunted city around her and the painful memories from the one she just left. These two broken people form an unlikely friendship, at first out of loneliness, but then deepening out of genuine affinity. They are finally forced to reveal their secrets and examine their pasts, and, as a pair, they explore how to reconcile their hopes for the future with the ache of history that...
Views: 32