Last Things

"Everything I love in a book."—Victoria Schwab, author of #1 New York Times bestseller This Savage Song"The kind of taut, atmospheric thriller that gets your heart racing and sets your imagination on fire. Sensational."—Claire Legrand, New York Times-bestselling author of FurybornNew York Times–bestselling author Jacqueline West captivates readers with a dark, hypnotic story about the cost of talent—and the evil that lurks just out of sight. Fans of Holly Black and Victoria Schwab will be mesmerized by this gorgeous, magnetic novel.High school senior Anders Thorson is unusually gifted. His band, Last Things, is legendary in their northern Minnesota hometown. With guitar skills that would amaze even if he weren't only eighteen, Anders is the focus of head-turning admiration. And Thea Malcom, a newcomer to the insular town, is one of his admirers. Thea seems to turn up everywhere...
Views: 685

The Last Time I Was Me

I wrapped up my grandmother's tea cup collection and my mother's china, then grabbed a violin I'd hidden way back in my closet that made me cry, a gold necklace with a dolphin that my father gave me two weeks before he died of a heart attack when I was twelve and, at midnight, with that moon as bright as the blazes, I left Chicago. When Jeanne Stewart stops at The Opera Man's Cafe in Weltana, Oregon, to eat pancakes for the first time in twelve years, she has no idea she's also about to order up a whole new future. It's been barely a week since she succumbed to a spectacularly public nervous breakdown in front of hundreds of the nation's most important advertising and PR people. Jeanne certainly had her reasons--her mother's recent death, the discovery that her boyfriend had been sleeping with a dozen other women, and the assault charges that resulted when Jeanne retaliated in a creative way against him, involving condoms and peanut oil. Now, en route to...
Views: 665

97 Things to Do Before You Finish High School

Being in high school is about a lot more than going to high school. It's about discovering new places, new hobbies, and new people - and opening your eyes to the world. This book is about the stuff they don't teach you in high school, like how to host a film festival, plan your first road trip, make a podcast, or write a manifesto.Want to make a time capsule? Spend a day in silence? Learn how to make beats like a DJ? Or shut down your house party before the police do? Whatever your creative, social, or academic inclinations, you'll find 97 ways on these pages to amuse, educate, and interest yourself, and your friends. Because your life doesn't stop at 3 p.m. each day—it just gets started.
Views: 597

All About Evie

Set against the natural beauty of the San Juan Islands in the Pacific Northwest, acclaimed author Cathy Lamb's latest novel tells the emotionally compelling story of one woman's life-changing discovery about her past . . . As a child, Evie Lindsay was unnerved by her premonitions. As an adult, they have become a simple fact of life—sometimes disruptive but also inescapable, much like her quirky, loveable family. Evie's mother, Poppy, and her aunts, Camellia and Iris, are well known on San Orcanita island for their free-spirited ways and elaborately decorated hats. Their floral shop and Evie's bookstore draw streams of visitors all summer long. This season promises to be extra busy: Evie's sister, Jules, is getting married on the island. As Jules plans her unconventional wedding, she arranges to do a DNA test with her mother, sister, and aunts, to see how much accepted lore about their heritage holds true. The results blow apart everything Evie...
Views: 503

A Fairy Tale Murder

Kids are always good and witches are always bad right? Wrong you idiot!Step inside A Fairy Tale Murder and discover the grissly truth.A short story by D.N.SmithHe lives to fly—until a jagged piece of flak changes his life forever.A tragic childhood has turned American Air Forces Colonel Rob Savage into an outwardly indifferent loner who is afraid to give his heart to anyone. RAF nurse Maggie McGrath has always dreamed of falling in love and settling down in a thatched cottage to raise a croftful of bairns, but the war has taken her far from Innisbraw, her tiny Scots island home. Hitler’s bloody quest to conquer Europe seems far away when Rob and Maggie are sent to an infirmary on Innisbraw to begin his rehabilitation from disabling injuries. Yet they find themselves caught in a battle between Rob’s past, God’s plan, and the evil some islanders harbor in their souls. Which will triumph?If you love the history of World War II, the allure of a simple life on a Scottish isle, and a budding romance between an American bomber pilot and a sweet RAF nurse, Broken Wings is what you’re looking for. This is the first book in the Thistle series. Get it now and begin your journey.And when you’re done, extend your island visit with Book Two (Wing and a Prayer), Book Three (The Promise of Dawn), and Book Four (Never Say Goodbye).
Views: 464

City of Ladies

It's midwinter in 1539, and former nun, Catherine Havens Overton, has just given birth to her second child, a daughter. The convent in which she was raised is now part of her husband's lands, lands that once belonged to Catherine's family. With a son, Robert, and her new daughter, Veronica, her life as the mistress of a great household should be complete. But Henry VIII's England has not been kind to many of the evicted members of religious houses. And in order to protect her old companions from the hostilities, Catherine has gathered about her a group of former nuns in hopes of providing them a chance to serve in the village of Havenston, her City of Ladies. Catherine's past haunts her. Her husband begins to suspect that Robert is not his child. Then the women of Overton House begin to disappear and one of them is found brutally murdered nearby. Seizing the moment, under the pretense of ensuring her safety, William forces Catherine to enter service at Hatfield House where the young Elizabeth Tudor lives. Reluctantly, Catherine obeys, only to find herself serving not only the Protestant Elizabeth but also the shamed Catholic Mary Tudor. As the murders in Yorkshire continue to mount and her loyalty to the Tudor sisters grows more complicated, Catherine must uncover the secret of the killer and save her City of Ladies.
Views: 461

Shattering Dreams

They're cursed to become heroes… or monsters.Alex is haunted by the childhood memory of the slaughter of his mother by one of the Sundered, a man driven mad by the use of tainted magic. As the fourth child of the King, he tries not to think beyond the next drink or party. Yet his growing ability to manipulate the powerful magic of the veil could either make him a legend or transform him into the monster from his worst nightmares…As Alex along with Jess and Kyle, his equally privileged yet cursed companions are subject of a foiled kidnapping plot their world starts to collapse. The stories of tainted magic driving humans mad are actually part of a conspiracy spanning generations. Betrayed by their own family, Alex and his friends risk madness and confront the darker side of their powers. But unravelling the web of lies they were raised to believe could destroy the kingdom they were sworn to protect…Shattering...
Views: 412

I.M.

"Honest, insightful, and thoroughly entertaining...Mizrahi comes off in writing just like his onscreen persona: warm, witty, humble—and ready to dish." —Booklist, starred reviewIsaac Mizrahi is sui generis: designer, cabaret performer, talk-show host, a TV celebrity. Yet ever since he shot to fame in the late 1980s, the private Isaac Mizrahi has remained under wraps. Until now.In I.M., Isaac Mizrahi offers a poignant, candid, and touching look back on his life so far. Growing up gay in a sheltered Syrian Jewish Orthodox family, Isaac had unique talents that ultimately drew him into fashion and later into celebrity circles that read like a who's who of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries: Richard Avedon, Audrey Hepburn, Anna Wintour, Mikhail Baryshnikov, Meryl Streep, and Oprah Winfrey, to name only a few. In his elegant memoir, Isaac delves into his lifelong battles with weight, insomnia, and depression. He tells what...
Views: 403

Fast Crimes

Crime happens in a moment and so do the stories in the Fast Crimes collection. These short mysteries start in the moment and build to a climax in a snap. Murders are plotted and carried out. Heists are planned and foiled. Investigators hunt and apprehend criminals. And it all happens in a handful of pages. It's a smash and grab experience...so strap in.
Views: 394

Awakening (Valkyrie Diaries, #1)

When sixteen-year-old Kylie Daniels wakes one morning to the sound of her kid brother hysterically screaming, she soon discovers that her life as she knew it, had changed forever… Follow Kylie and her brother Mason as they discover that the veil that separated the human realm from that of the supernatural was compromised exposing them to shifters, slashers, demons and Valkyrie.You know those times when you've just had a fight with your mom and behind closed doors you say horrible things like I hate you or I wish you were dead? Well, it really happened. Mom is dead, gone forever they all are; every single person in our entire town disappeared overnight, like some freaking nightmare. I'm Kylie Daniels and my brother and I are the only ones left and now we have to figure out how to survive…When sixteen-year-old Kylie Daniels wakes one morning to the sound of her kid brother hysterically screaming, she soon discovers that her life as she knew it, had changed forever… Follow Kylie and her brother Mason as they discover that the veil that separated the human realm from that of the supernatural was compromised exposing them to shifters, slashers, demons and Valkyrie.
Views: 338

Losing the Plot

I loved it! It's got a kind of Bridget Jones feel and such a page turner. Great fun but with such beautiful heart. I've already cast the film/series in my head!' Rebecca GibneyVanessa Rooney is a thirty-something dental hygienist who finds herself a single mum with a hole in her heart where her husband had been.Somehow she finds the courage to fulfil her childhood dream of writing a romance novel but soon discovers that her novel has been plagiarised by her idol, celebrity author Charlotte Lancaster.Vanessa reluctantly sues Charlotte with the help of suburban solicitor Dave Rendall, who's nursing some unfulfilled dreams of his own. When gun QC Marcus Stafford agrees to join their legal team, Vanessa feels like her perfect man has stepped right out of the pages of her book and into her life.As all hell breaks loose publicly and privately, Vanessa confronts a painful past and realises what Dave already knew - that she's an intelligent, funny, amazing woman and...
Views: 328

St. Helena Vineyard Series: Plumb Crazy About You

Resisting the rival…Cassie Larkin expects to buy Plumb Crazy, St. Helena’s civil engineering firm, when her boss retires. She needs to prove to her family she can be as successful and independent as her super model sister. But Cassie isn’t the only one who wants the business. Worse, her rival is an experienced engineer who looks as scrumptious as one of the town’s famous éclairs and he’s already saved her from a dangerous snake. Nick Sebastian needs to leave his father’s mega firm and prove he can make it on his own. But he’s already in trouble. His rival for the business is a wiz with a transit, knows everyone in town, and has already brought out his protective instincts along with a few baser ones. As their showdown looms, each must decide where love fits into the plan because winning just might prove to be as sour as spoiled wine.
Views: 228