Shelter

'Beautiful' Adele Parks'Life affirming and compelling!' Clare Mackintosh'Tender and illuminating' Carys Bray'Its characters pulse with life and energy . . . vividly rendered' Daily MailPerfect for fans of Early One Morning by Virginia Baily and the novels of Maggie O'Farrell.Early spring 1944.Connie Granger has escaped her bombed-out city home, finding refuge in the Women's Timber Corps. For her, this remote community must now serve a secret purpose.Seppe, an Italian prisoner of war, is haunted by his memories. In the forest camp, he finds a strange kind of freedom.Their meeting signals new beginnings. But as they are drawn together, the world outside their forest haven is being torn apart. Old certainties are crumbling, and both must now make a life-defining choice.What price will they pay for freedom? What will they fight to protect?...
Views: 535

At the End of the World

At the End of the World is the remarkable story of a series of murders that occurred in an extremely remote corner of the Arctic in 1941. Those murders show that senseless violence in the name of religion is not only a contemporary phenomenon, and that a people as seemingly peaceful as the Inuit can become unpeaceful at the drop of a hat or, in this instance, a meteor shower. At the same time, the book is a warning cry against the destruction of what's left of our culture's humanity, along the destruction of the natural world. Has technology deprived us of our eyes? the author asks. Has it deprived the world of birds, beasts, and flowers? Lawrence Millman's At the End of the World is a brilliant and original book by one of the boldest writers of our era.
Views: 70

Wolverine the Trickster, Labrador Innu Tales

In this remarkable collection, Lawrence Millman has brought to life a little-known trickster figure named Wolverine. Compared with him, the comic book Wolverine is like a two-bit punk. When Wolverine the trickster's on the scene, virtually anything can happen — birch trees can have eyes, a penis can talk, and farts can kill. These stories also offer a window on a remote and endangered culture in Labrador.
Views: 47