Adrenaline

Jonathan Laing and Blake Roth are two men with nothing in common. Until now.Finding themselves suffering from memory loss, erratic behaviour and a ferocious thirst, they come to realise that their lives have become mysteriously entangled. As one searches desperately for answers, the other tries to flee them.But the truth is hunting both men and they must decide how they will choose to face it.Jonathan Laing; rootless and lonely, he is horrified when he wakes up bandaged in a burns unit with no memory of how he got there.Blake Roth; violent criminal, finds himself behaving increasingly erratically after an attempted mugging backfires on him. As each man contends with a terrifying and baffling new reality, they slowly come to realise that they have become inextricably tangled. But there are so many questions. Like; what happened that night, and what is happening to them now? Why can't they seem to shift their thirst? And when will this unseasonal heatwave break?As one searches desperately for answers, the other tries to flee them. But the truth is hunting both men and they must both decide how they will choose to face it. And how they will deal with that ferocious, unquenchable thirst.
Views: 992

Headhunter

Daniel Campbell thought he wanted a quiet life. Now he's not so sure. Seeking excitement and a new challenge, he starts to make changes but pretty soon he's in so deep he can't tell if he's just paranoid, or really is in danger. He's made some enemies after all, and the kind that hold grudges. Has Campbell been marked? Is he being hunted? He's about to find out.Having found himself caught up in a complex and deadly web and barely escaped alive, Daniel Campbell has been finding that normal life is missing something, and he craves a little more excitement, a new challenge. Meanwhile, someone, somewhere remembers what Campbell did to him and can still feel the sting of it as he struggles with the consequences. He's got revenge in mind, and a comeback plan that will dig him out of the hole Campbell left him in. As the net draws closed around him Campbell feels the familiar stir of fear and paranoia and starts to question everything and everyone. But has he left it too late to start asking questions? Is there time enough left to save himself?
Views: 873

Tales of Mystery and Truth

This collection of seven tales, sprung from the novel "The Beggars of Azure", features crocodile men, books that don't exist, portals through time, living paintings, and, of course, love. Some of the tales feature characters or detail events from the novel. Some of these tales are tangential to the mood and themes in the novel. All of them testify to the fact that reality answers to no one.This collection of seven tales, sprung from the novel "The Beggars of Azure", features crocodile men, books that don't exist, portals through time, living paintings, and, of course, love. Some of the tales feature characters or detail events from the novel. Some of these tales are tangential to the mood and themes in the novel. All of them testify to the fact that reality answers to no one. Stories include "Antinomies of Time", "The Living Dead", "The Court of Love", "The Freedom of Pavko Krizova", "Landscape With the Fall of Icarus", "Petsuchoi", and "The Book of Zambullo".
Views: 769

Cold Stairs

Winner of an Honorable Mention Virginia Tech Literary Award, this story takes place in Eastern Kentucky and is based on what might have been a true ghost story. I consider this to be my best finished piece, and I look forward to your feedback. Enjoy!What if you found out your whole life was a lie, and that was after you were turned into a vampire?"I don't know what blood tastes like to a human. I'd never even licked a tiny drop of it from a pricked finger, let alone suck on a bleeding cut. Now it's my only food source." Meet teenage runaway Ellie. She's snarky, witty, funny, and has issues with her mother, just like any other 17-year-old girl.She's also a vampire.Days before her 18th birthday, the mysterious and handsome immortal Christian, turned her into a creature that she loathes, forcing her to leave her old life behind forever and move to London. Thrust into the supernatural world, full of magic and danger, Ellie doesn't want to be a killer.She doesn't even like to drink blood.But Christian wasn't completely honest about why he'd taken a romantic interest in her, and he wasn't the only one keeping things from her, either.Her mother was hiding the same secret.Truth is: Ellie was never an ordinary teenager, and now, she's no ordinary teen vampire. When she discovers why she's not like others of her kind, why she protects humans instead of hunting them, she realises that her life is about to change all over again.And the world as she knows it will never be the same...Poison Blood, Book 2: Absolution is also free to download and answers some of the questions raised in Book 1, while asking many more...What Readers Said About Poison Blood, Book 1: Revelation'What great book' 5-stars~ B&N Nook Review'This is definitely not a soppy vampire romance! As usual with Neha Yazmin's novels, things are never as they seem.' 5-stars~ Amazon UK Review'Awesome. This was great, couldn't put it down.' 5-stars~ iBooks Australia Review'I am definitely hooked on the Poison Blood series. This is a character-driven story. Neha's characters' depths are what drive her stories, each with their hidden secrets.' 5-stars~ Smashwords ReviewBook Details:Length: A 29,000-word paranormal urban fantasy novel with added bonus contentGenre: Teen & YA Paranormal Romance / YA Vampire Romance / Teen Paranormal Fantasy / YA Urban Fantasy / Young Adult & Teen Science Fiction & Fantasy / Fantasy Romance / Paranormal Urban Fantasy / Supernatural Romance / Supernatural & Fantasy Mood: Dark / Humorous / Coming of ageContent: No violence / No explicit sex scenes / No eroticaAudience: For Teens / Young Adults / New Adults / AdultsRecommended for: Readers that love all things vampires, slayers and witches!This book is suitable for fans of Twilight, The Mortal Instruments and A Shade of Vampire and readers that love all things related to the Chosen One, vampires, slayers and witches!
Views: 711

And There Were No Cars on the Road

He goes out on a late night drive in the wintry woods to relax and free his mind, but after he becomes stranded his mind is anything but free..."The Perfect Christian Romance Story for the Ages" Christian Romance... Sometimes life leaves you devastated, but God will always have a plan for you. Karen has her life turned upside down when her six year relationship ends suddenly, but God has a different life set out for her... She meets Gage in a remote village she volunteers to practice medicine in and sparks fly, but Gage is keeping his distance... Can Karen eventually breakthrough?
Views: 678

From Fire by Water

Sohrab Ahmari was a teenager living under the Iranian ayatollahs when he decided that there is no God. Nearly two decades later|he would be received into the Roman Catholic Church.In From Fire|by Water|he recounts this unlikely passage|from the strident Marxism and atheism of a youth misspent on both sides of the Atlantic to a moral and spiritual awakening prompted by the Mass. At once a young intellectual's finely crafted self-portrait and a life story at the intersection of the great ideas and events of our time|the book marks the debut of a compelling new Catholic voice.
Views: 653

Butt-washing Funny

A collection of Midwest and Southern short stories and jokes by the author.A collection of Midwest and Southern short stories and jokes by the author. Includes chapters from the novel Thibodaux's Trial.
Views: 638

Brooks Berry In The Case Of The Stolen Season

Brooks Berry is your normal 12 year old boy. Obsessed with sports, best friends with his dog Ripken and a very curious mind. He also is one of Wauwatosa's leading detectives. Join this boy sleuth and his friends on his mystery solving adventures packed with unexpected twists and turns.Written in the spirit of the Hardy Boys & Nancy Drew mysteries. First edition of a new series.Write On Press Presents an incredible collection of original short fiction including 30 of the best new and original short stories of 2013! We put together a collection of work by some of the hottest new authors of fiction, fantasy, sci-fi and romance. With well over 100,000 words of quality short stories, there is sure to be something for every taste. Enjoy the works of J. J. Haile, Taymika G. Byrd, C. M. Bratton, H. C. Heartland and many others!Fiction:T’ant Pis (Too Bad)Cleaning HouseChicken Pox RevengeThe Girl in the LibraryThe Cards Don’t LieJohnny’s GunDog Night DawnThanks be to the BoozeThose Shoes!~*~Fantasy:A Mother’s NeedBe Careful what you ask forThe Divorce QuiltWither the World~*~Science Fiction:The GameChainmail & NerdsMemory FarmBehind these Eyes1. Inside the Light, Outside of Time2. Lifetime in a Moment3. Whisper in the Darkness4. Darkness of Mind5. Clasping Life6. Drip of Moonlight7. Generating LightMe Zombie, You FoodOf Pirate Queens and Kika Fruit~*~Romance:Courage in a Coffee CupBreathlessLacrimosaRipplesAs an added bonus, enjoy a sneak peek of the Lost Legends of OZ, Volume II, by L. Frank Baum, coming February 2014!
Views: 627

Gatecrasher

When Daniel Campbell's party is ended by a shocking disturbance he finds himself dragged into an ever more desperate and confusing web of theft, espionage and violence. Pursued from every angle and closed off from help, Campbell must rely on his wits and resourcefulness to escape a closing trap. But where do you run when you're running from everyone? And who do you trust when there’s no-one left?When a shocking disturbance ends a housewarming party, the host, Daniel Campbell, can have no idea of the chain of events that are about to engulf his life. Soon he discovers that an intruder has left behind something extraordinary, mysterious and of great value. Something that a lot of people want to get their hands on. And Daniel Campbell’s ordinary life begins to come apart. Finding himself an inadvertent witness to a crime he knows nothing about and pursued and isolated, Campbell must rely on all his wits and resourcefulness to pick his way out of a deadly maze before all his options are exhausted. But which way do you run when you are running from everyone? And who do you trust when there’s nobody left?
Views: 621

A Time to Die

Best-selling French author Nicolas Diat approaches subtly but frankly the mystery of a major question for all - the end of life - and reveals the profound and moving insights on death from monks in monasteries around Europe. How to die? How to respond to our fears of death? Behind monastery walls, men of God spend their lives preparing for the great passage. Can they help us understand the suffering, fear, pain, courage and solitude of the final moments? From the monasteries of Cîteaux to Lagrasse, from the Grande Chartreuse to Solesmes, Diat has collected the wisdom of monks about the end of their lives. Through extraordinary interviews with monks in eight monasteries, as close as possible to the "sons of silence", we learn that their death experiences are varied and unique, with elements of peace, pain, humility, sorrow and joy. These monks are no different than us, as they have the same fears, torments and sorrows. What is exemplary about the monks is their humility and simplicity. When death approaches, and its hand reveals its strength, they are like happy and naïve children who wait with impatience to open a gift. They have no doubts about the fulfillment of the promise of Christ.
Views: 569